Welcome to the Subject Guide on Bioinformatics
This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on Bioinformatics. You can use it to:
- locate books, eBooks and journal articles
- search relevant online databases
- connect to useful websites
- reference properly and avoid plagiarism
Audio Books
Blogs & News
Data Management & Repositories
Databases
DELNET - Developing Library Network
Dictionaries
Electronic Books
Electronic Journals
Electronic Theses & Dissertations
Blogs & News
Data Management & Repositories
Databases
DELNET - Developing Library Network
Dictionaries
Electronic Books
Electronic Journals
Electronic Theses & Dissertations
Encyclopedias
Library OPAC
National Digital Library of India (NDLI)
Open Courseware
Open Text Books
Organizations
Patent Databases
Preprint Servers
Research Funding Agencies
Library OPAC
National Digital Library of India (NDLI)
Open Courseware
Open Text Books
Organizations
Patent Databases
Preprint Servers
Research Funding Agencies
Research Support Tools
Resources Available in Library
Scholarships and Fellowships
Search Engines
Softwares
Table of Contents Services (TOC)
Video Sources
Web Sites
Webcasts
Resources Available in Library
Scholarships and Fellowships
Search Engines
Softwares
Table of Contents Services (TOC)
Video Sources
Web Sites
Webcasts
Advanced Science News
Developed by Wiley, Advanced Science News is a news service covering the latest breakthroughs in science.
Developed by Wiley, Advanced Science News is a news service covering the latest breakthroughs in science.
Data Management & Repositories
Registry of Research Data Repositories - re3data.org
The Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org) is a global registry, with more than 2,400 detailed data repository records, and is widely acknowledged as a tool for the identification of suitable repositories for research data.
The Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org) is a global registry, with more than 2,400 detailed data repository records, and is widely acknowledged as a tool for the identification of suitable repositories for research data.
DELNET - Developing Library Network
DELNET - Developing Library Network
Pondicherry University Library has subscribed to the Institutional Membership of DELNET (Developing Library Network), New Delhi. DELNET is a major resource-sharing library Network in India connecting more than 7300 institutions in 33 states in India and few other countries comprising of universities, colleges, R&D organizations, specialized institutions, etc.
DELNET also provides access to more than 3.6 crore catalogue records of books journals articles, etc. with the facility to borrow books on Inter Library Loan (ILL) and get copies of journal articles. For: more details on accessing DELNET resources please logon to https://delnet.in/ and click on "New Discovery Portal".
Pondicherry University Library has subscribed to the Institutional Membership of DELNET (Developing Library Network), New Delhi. DELNET is a major resource-sharing library Network in India connecting more than 7300 institutions in 33 states in India and few other countries comprising of universities, colleges, R&D organizations, specialized institutions, etc.
DELNET also provides access to more than 3.6 crore catalogue records of books journals articles, etc. with the facility to borrow books on Inter Library Loan (ILL) and get copies of journal articles. For: more details on accessing DELNET resources please logon to https://delnet.in/ and click on "New Discovery Portal".
National Digital Library of India (NDLI)
InPASS: Indian Patent Search System
InPASS is an updated version of I-PAIRS as it allows for the full-text search of all Indian patents and Patent Applications.
InPASS is an updated version of I-PAIRS as it allows for the full-text search of all Indian patents and Patent Applications.
AusPat - search system for Australian Patents
AusPat is Australia's search database that allows inventors, industry and researchers to access patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.
AusPat is Australia's search database that allows inventors, industry and researchers to access patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.
FreePatentsOnline
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web.
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web.
Patent Abstracts of Japan Database
The Industrial Property Digital Library (IPDL) offers the public access to IP Gazettes of the JPO free of charge through the Internet.
The Industrial Property Digital Library (IPDL) offers the public access to IP Gazettes of the JPO free of charge through the Internet.
PatentScope : World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Patestate
Patestate is a full-text database of India and Foreign patents granted to CSIR during 1942-till date. The database summarizes the patented inventions and describes the claims made in each individual patent document. A search engine has been incorporated for finding, exploring, analyzing and tracking patents and related information.
Patestate is a full-text database of India and Foreign patents granted to CSIR during 1942-till date. The database summarizes the patented inventions and describes the claims made in each individual patent document. A search engine has been incorporated for finding, exploring, analyzing and tracking patents and related information.
The Lens
The Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. The patent searching capability allows the use of advanced Boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options.
The Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. The patent searching capability allows the use of advanced Boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options.
USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office
Patents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
Patents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
AgriRxiv
agriRxiv (pronounced ‘agri-archive’) is a free, open access source of unpublished preprints across the agricultural sciences.
agriRxiv (pronounced ‘agri-archive’) is a free, open access source of unpublished preprints across the agricultural sciences.
arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,068,277 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,068,277 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv
bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
Department of Science & Technology
- All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)
- Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
- Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)
- Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)
- Department of Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoepathy (AYUSH)
- Department of Biotechnology (DBT)
- Ministry of Coal (MOC)
- Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES)
- Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR)
- Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)
- India Meteorological Department (IMD)
- Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)
- Department of Electronics & Information Technology (DeitY)
- Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
- Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
- Ministry of Power
- Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment (MOSJE)
- Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
- Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
- University Grants Commission (UGC)
Remote Login
Remote Login Access provides off campus access to all the subscribed e-resources of Ananda Rangapillai Library
Remote Login Access provides off campus access to all the subscribed e-resources of Ananda Rangapillai Library
Turnitin: Plagiarism Checker
Turnitin is an online software program that can detect similarities between an existing work and your submitted work. When you submit a work to Turnitin, the proprietary software compares that work to Turnitin's database.
Similarities are instances when your words match words found in other works found in the Turnitin database
Turnitin is an online software program that can detect similarities between an existing work and your submitted work. When you submit a work to Turnitin, the proprietary software compares that work to Turnitin's database.
Similarities are instances when your words match words found in other works found in the Turnitin database
Scholarships and Fellowships
Indian
Indian
-
Post Graduate Indira Gandhi Scholarship Scheme For Single Girl Child
-
Dr. D.S. Kothari Post-Doctoral Fellowships in Sciences, Medical Sciences & Engineering Sciences. (Hindi Version)
-
Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) and Research Associateship (RA) for Foreign Nationals
-
Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) in Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences
Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive.
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive.
ChemSketch
ChemSketch is our popular structure drawing software with over 2 million downloads worldwide.
ChemSketch is our popular structure drawing software with over 2 million downloads worldwide.
Table of Contents Services (TOC)
JournalToCs
This is a free Table of Contents service that provides access in one place to the most recent tables of contents for over 32,000 journals.
This is a free Table of Contents service that provides access in one place to the most recent tables of contents for over 32,000 journals.
Library of Congress Webcasts
This resource from the Library of Congress includes webcasts on a multitude of topics: history, current events, education, literature, and more. The site allows you to browse collections by subject including the National Book Festival collection, see newly added webcasts and the most popular webcasts, and download both web- and podcasts.
This resource from the Library of Congress includes webcasts on a multitude of topics: history, current events, education, literature, and more. The site allows you to browse collections by subject including the National Book Festival collection, see newly added webcasts and the most popular webcasts, and download both web- and podcasts.
OPAC
The OPAC lists all of the books, thesis and CDs at the Ananda Rangapillai Library, Pondicherry University.
http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/opac.php
The OPAC lists all of the books, thesis and CDs at the Ananda Rangapillai Library, Pondicherry University.
http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/opac.php
EBSCO Food Science Source
The EBSCO Food Science Source is a complex database with a multitude of features. This LibGuide merely scratches the surface and helps the beginning searcher conduct research.
The EBSCO Food Science Source is a complex database with a multitude of features. This LibGuide merely scratches the surface and helps the beginning searcher conduct research.
Academic Video Online (74,000 plus academic vidoes)
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
note: https://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
Academic Video Online is a comprehensive, multidisciplinary video subscription that supports the entire range of curriculum, from anthropology to zoology. It includes a variety of video material available with curricular relevance: documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, and demonstrations. Patrons will find thousands of award-winning films, including Academy®, Emmy®, and Peabody® winners. Academic institutions will find frequently used films for classroom instruction, plus newly released films and previously unavailable archival material.
note: https://proquest.libguides.com/academicvideoonline
Avibase - The World Bird Database
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 56 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information for 20,000 regions, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 56 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information for 20,000 regions, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
EBSCO Academic Search Complete
EBSCO Academic Search Complete Is designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes
FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.
FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.
GOLD: Genomes Online Database
GOLD: Genomes Online Database, is a World Wide Web resource for comprehensive access to information regarding genome and metagenome sequencing projects, and their associated metadata, around the world.
GOLD: Genomes Online Database, is a World Wide Web resource for comprehensive access to information regarding genome and metagenome sequencing projects, and their associated metadata, around the world.
Grammarly Premium
Grammarly is an automated online writing support tool that does far more than just highlight grammar and spelling errors. The program offers contextual advice and suggestions for improving sentence structure, word choice, and style for all kinds of documents. It can even help prevent plagiarism by checking for unoriginal text against a database of over 8 billion web pages. The Ananda Rangapillai Library is pleased to offer Pondicherry University students, research scholars, faculty, and staff free access to the premium academic version of Grammarly, known as Grammarly@EDU.
For login assistance, contact: vijay.lib@pondiuni.edu.in
Grammarly is an automated online writing support tool that does far more than just highlight grammar and spelling errors. The program offers contextual advice and suggestions for improving sentence structure, word choice, and style for all kinds of documents. It can even help prevent plagiarism by checking for unoriginal text against a database of over 8 billion web pages. The Ananda Rangapillai Library is pleased to offer Pondicherry University students, research scholars, faculty, and staff free access to the premium academic version of Grammarly, known as Grammarly@EDU.
For login assistance, contact: vijay.lib@pondiuni.edu.in
Indiastat
Comprehensive portal to economic, social, political, and related statistics about India. Over half-a-million pages of statistical data are presented in a user-friendly Web format.
Comprehensive portal to economic, social, political, and related statistics about India. Over half-a-million pages of statistical data are presented in a user-friendly Web format.
OBRC: Online Bioinformatics Resources Collection
Search for molecular databases and software tools that do what you need. Most results are free and web-based.
Search for molecular databases and software tools that do what you need. Most results are free and web-based.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a wealth of unique global scholarship, which is a credible and quality source to Uncover the Undiscovered research insights and intelligence in the easiest and most effective ways. The equitable discoverability of more than 5 million dissertations and theses with coverage from the year 1637, allows researchers to amplify diverse voices and place their research in a global context. The database offers nearly 3 million full texts for most of the dissertations added since 1997
note: https://proquest.libguides.com/PQDT
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a wealth of unique global scholarship, which is a credible and quality source to Uncover the Undiscovered research insights and intelligence in the easiest and most effective ways. The equitable discoverability of more than 5 million dissertations and theses with coverage from the year 1637, allows researchers to amplify diverse voices and place their research in a global context. The database offers nearly 3 million full texts for most of the dissertations added since 1997
note: https://proquest.libguides.com/PQDT
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
SciFinderⁿ
CAS SciFindern is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface
CAS SciFindern is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface
Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
note: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.
Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools for confident research strategy decisions — all from one database and one subscription.
Scopus is a comprehensive, source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders. Scopus powers better decision-making with curated, complete and connected data.
note: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus
Web of Science
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 2002-present.
note: LibGuide
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 2002-present.
note: LibGuide
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection provides access to a large selection of nearly 219,000 multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Brill Academic Publishers; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection provides access to a large selection of nearly 219,000 multidisciplinary ebook titles representing a broad range of academic subject matter including titles from leading university presses such as Oxford University Press, State University of New York Press, Cambridge University Press, University of California Press, MIT Press, Harvard University Press and many others. Additional academic publishers include Elsevier Ltd.; Brill Academic Publishers; Taylor & Francis Ltd; Sage Publications, Ltd. and John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Oxford Textbooks (Very Short Introductions Online)
Very Short Introductions (VSI) is provided by Oxford University Press and offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a vast range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable. Ananda Rangapillai Library currently subscribes to the following subjects, Art & Media, Health Science, History, Law, Literature, Management & Economics, Philosophy & Religion, Politics and Sociologywhich contains about 585 titles.
Very Short Introductions (VSI) is provided by Oxford University Press and offers concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects. All titles provide intelligent and serious introductions to a vast range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable. Ananda Rangapillai Library currently subscribes to the following subjects, Art & Media, Health Science, History, Law, Literature, Management & Economics, Philosophy & Religion, Politics and Sociologywhich contains about 585 titles.
ScienceDirect - eBook Collections
The collection on Elsevier eBooks Collections includes 509 titles in the following subjects: Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology and Microbiology, Mathematics and Computing, Social Sciences, Environmental Science, Forensics.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/ebooks.php
The collection on Elsevier eBooks Collections includes 509 titles in the following subjects: Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology and Microbiology, Mathematics and Computing, Social Sciences, Environmental Science, Forensics.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/ebooks.php
American Chemical Society
ACS Publications' commitment to publishing high-quality research continues to attract impactful publications from top authors around the globe.
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27American%20Chemical%20Society%27
ACS Publications' commitment to publishing high-quality research continues to attract impactful publications from top authors around the globe.
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27American%20Chemical%20Society%27
American Institute of Physics
AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP).
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27American%20Institute%20of%20Physics%27
AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP).
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27American%20Institute%20of%20Physics%27
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 33scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews save time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions.
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Annual%20Reviews%27
Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 33scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews save time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions.
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Annual%20Reviews%27
JSTOR
JSTOR archival journal collections are where scholars go to link past and present, forge new connections, and build on great ideas.
The collections feature the full-text articles of more than 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries
note: https://guides.jstor.org/ Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27JSTOR%27
JSTOR archival journal collections are where scholars go to link past and present, forge new connections, and build on great ideas.
The collections feature the full-text articles of more than 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. Journals span continents and languages, with titles from 1,200 publishers from 57 countries
note: https://guides.jstor.org/ Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27JSTOR%27
Oxford University Press
Oxford University Press (OUP) provides full-text access to more than 262 electronic journals in the field of life sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, medicine, social sciences, humanities and law with back files from 1996 onwards.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Oxford%20University%20Press%27
Oxford University Press (OUP) provides full-text access to more than 262 electronic journals in the field of life sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, medicine, social sciences, humanities and law with back files from 1996 onwards.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Oxford%20University%20Press%27
Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 48 peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 48 peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.
SAGE Research Methods Subject Collection
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?ss=%27pu%27%20&%20cc=%27SAGE%20Research%20Methods%20Subject%20Collection%27
| SAGE Research Methods Collection covering quantitative and qualitative methods for both the social sciences and STM, allowing researchers to keep pace with new trends in all facets of research methods. |
HIGHLIGHTS:
|
| Here is the User Guide to help you browse the SAGE Journals platform. |
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?ss=%27pu%27%20&%20cc=%27SAGE%20Research%20Methods%20Subject%20Collection%27
ScienceDirect (10 Subject Collections)
Access to Science Direct 10 subjects (1. Biochemistry, Genetics & Mol. Biology,2. Agriculture & Biological Science,3. Chemistry4. Computer Science,5. Economics,6. Immunology & Microbiology,7. Mathematics,8. Physics & Astronomy,9. Social Sciences,10. Psychology) collection (1000+journals titles ) with back-files since 1995.
note: https://elsevier.libguides.com/sciencedirect
Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27PU%27%20&%20cc=%27Elsevier%27
Access to Science Direct 10 subjects (1. Biochemistry, Genetics & Mol. Biology,2. Agriculture & Biological Science,3. Chemistry4. Computer Science,5. Economics,6. Immunology & Microbiology,7. Mathematics,8. Physics & Astronomy,9. Social Sciences,10. Psychology) collection (1000+journals titles ) with back-files since 1995.
note: https://elsevier.libguides.com/sciencedirect
Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27PU%27%20&%20cc=%27Elsevier%27
Springer Link
Springer is the leading global scientific publisher, delivering quality content through innovative information products and services, as well as a trusted provider of local-language professional publications in Europe, especially in Germany and the Netherlands. It publishers high quality content in various formats like books, journals, newsletters, CD-ROMs, online platforms, protocols, databases and conferences.
Overall journals can be accessed through SpringerLink are around 1700+ journals. The backfiles / backdata is available since 1997 for Springer titles and 2007 onwards for Nature main title.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Springer%20Link%27
Springer is the leading global scientific publisher, delivering quality content through innovative information products and services, as well as a trusted provider of local-language professional publications in Europe, especially in Germany and the Netherlands. It publishers high quality content in various formats like books, journals, newsletters, CD-ROMs, online platforms, protocols, databases and conferences.
Overall journals can be accessed through SpringerLink are around 1700+ journals. The backfiles / backdata is available since 1997 for Springer titles and 2007 onwards for Nature main title.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Springer%20Link%27
Taylor and Francis Journals
Taylor and Francis, founded in 1798, is the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. Informa interface is a new and expanding platform, initially hosting the academic and scientific publications. Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1600 journals and around 1,800 new books each year Taylor and Francis provides quality information and knowledge that enable the customers and end-users to perform their jobs efficiently, continue their education, and help contribute to the advancement of their chosen profession. It is a widely known publisher among researchers, students, academics and increasingly professionals.
The Consortium can access more than 1000 journals with archival access to 1998 onwards issues. More details are available at https://think.taylorandfrancis.com/journals-access-under-eshodhsindhu-consortium/.
Taylor and Francis, founded in 1798, is the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. Informa interface is a new and expanding platform, initially hosting the academic and scientific publications. Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1600 journals and around 1,800 new books each year Taylor and Francis provides quality information and knowledge that enable the customers and end-users to perform their jobs efficiently, continue their education, and help contribute to the advancement of their chosen profession. It is a widely known publisher among researchers, students, academics and increasingly professionals.
The Consortium can access more than 1000 journals with archival access to 1998 onwards issues. More details are available at https://think.taylorandfrancis.com/journals-access-under-eshodhsindhu-consortium/.
Wiley 908 Titles Collection
Wiley is one of the world's foremost academic and professional publishers and the largest society publisher. With a combined list of more than 1,400 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and an extensive collection of books with global appeal, this new business sets the standard for publishing in the life and physical sciences, medicine and allied health, engineering, humanities and social sciences.
Perpetual access: For Subscribed content
Backfile access: Complimentary, back to the Year 1997
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?ss=%27pu%27%20&%20cc=%27Wiley%20Blackwell%27
Wiley is one of the world's foremost academic and professional publishers and the largest society publisher. With a combined list of more than 1,400 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and an extensive collection of books with global appeal, this new business sets the standard for publishing in the life and physical sciences, medicine and allied health, engineering, humanities and social sciences.
Perpetual access: For Subscribed content
Backfile access: Complimentary, back to the Year 1997
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?ss=%27pu%27%20&%20cc=%27Wiley%20Blackwell%27
Carnegie Mellon Online Learning Initiative
Offers 27 free and open courses from Carnegie Mellon University.
Offers 27 free and open courses from Carnegie Mellon University.
- John Hopkins University Open Courseware
- Ninety plus open courses offered from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.
- Khan Academy
Offers access to tutorials, practice exercises, instructional videos and a personalized dashboard in many different disciplines such as math; science and engineering; computing; arts and humanities; and economics and finance. - Lumen Learning
Search by subject areas for OER course materials. - METU OpenCourseWare (Middle East Technical University)
Offers free and open educational resources for faculty, students, and self-learners throughout the world. - MIT Open Courseware
Course material for over 2000 courses is available for free in various different disciplines such as Engineering, Science, Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences, Science and more! - OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)
A search tool to search for OER content, including courseware, from 78 different sources and contains 155,375 records. - Open Course Library
"A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of the materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low-cost textbooks ($30 or less). The course material can be used, adapted and shared for free as well as low-cost publisher materials." This site includes courses developed specifically for community and technical colleges. - Open Education Consortium
Offers free online courses along with access to course materials and expert opinions on topical issues from members of the Open Education Consortium. - OpenLearn
Offers free online courses from the UK's Open University with free access to course materials and expert opinions. - Saylor Academy (Saylor.org)
"Free, open online courses for people everywhere." Includes topics such as General Education, Art History, Computer Science, English Literature, and more.
BC Open Campus Textbook Project
-
Free open textbooks for courses in arts, sciences, humanities and business.
-
Community College Consortium for OER (CCCOER)Search by subject areas for open and free textbooks that may be suitable for use in community college courses.
-
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)Open content available, including textbooks, from 52 different sources and contains 155,375 records.
-
OER CommonsSearch by subject areas for open and free textbooks that may be suitable for use in community college courses.
-
OpenStaxOffers over 20 high quality textbooks for college and AP courses; also, includes test banks, assignments, PowerPoint slides to go along with the textbooks.
-
Open SUNY TextbooksOpen textbooks from the State University of New York System.
-
Open Textbook LibraryA searchable catalog of open textbooks "licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed."
-
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks"100+ free textbooks for students, educators, and families"
Resources Available in Library
Books on Bioinformatics
Anada Rangapillai Library collection is cataloged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The library has a sizable collection of books and reading material on Chemistry subject. These books are classified under the following Class Numbers:
572.80285 Bioinformatics
572.838 Molecular Evolution
572.86 Chromosomal DNA Genes & Genomes
572.877 Genetic Recombination
572.88 RNA (Ribonucleic Acid)
573.4 Molecular Endocrinology
575.1 Evolutionary Genetics
576.5 Genetics
576.58 Population Genetics
576.8 Evolution
To find the books on Bioinformatics, please search in Library Online Public Access Catalogue
Anada Rangapillai Library collection is cataloged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The library has a sizable collection of books and reading material on Chemistry subject. These books are classified under the following Class Numbers:
572.80285 Bioinformatics
572.838 Molecular Evolution
572.86 Chromosomal DNA Genes & Genomes
572.877 Genetic Recombination
572.88 RNA (Ribonucleic Acid)
573.4 Molecular Endocrinology
575.1 Evolutionary Genetics
576.5 Genetics
576.58 Population Genetics
576.8 Evolution
To find the books on Bioinformatics, please search in Library Online Public Access Catalogue
Electronic Theses & Dissertations
Academic Earth
Watch free lecture videos covering many disciplines from the world’s top universities.
Watch free lecture videos covering many disciplines from the world’s top universities.
Annenberg Learner
Teacher resources including a collection of video programs in subjects such as art, foreign language, literature/language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies/history.
Teacher resources including a collection of video programs in subjects such as art, foreign language, literature/language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies/history.
EduTube
Educational video search platform that organizes the best free online educational videos, and make them easy for you to find, watch and download. Browse by category, type, educational level, length, top 100, or most popular.
Educational video search platform that organizes the best free online educational videos, and make them easy for you to find, watch and download. Browse by category, type, educational level, length, top 100, or most popular.
Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
TeacherTube
TeacherTube's educational technology offers a one-stop shop for user-generated educational free videos from around the world.
TeacherTube's educational technology offers a one-stop shop for user-generated educational free videos from around the world.
Biology Corner
The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers. It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics.
The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers. It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics.
Biostars
Biostars is a tutorial and Q&A forum focused on bioinformatics, computational genomics and biological data analysis.
Biostars is a tutorial and Q&A forum focused on bioinformatics, computational genomics and biological data analysis.
IGSR: The International Genome Sample Resource
The International Genome Sample Resource (IGSR) has been established at EMBL-EBI to continue supporting data generated by the 1000 Genomes Project,
The International Genome Sample Resource (IGSR) has been established at EMBL-EBI to continue supporting data generated by the 1000 Genomes Project,
International Plant Name Index (IPNI)
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.
The International Plant Names Index (IPNI) is a database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.
PharmGKB
PharmGKB is a comprehensive resource that
curates knowledge about the impact of genetic
variation on drug response for clinicians
and researchers.
PharmGKB is a comprehensive resource that
curates knowledge about the impact of genetic
variation on drug response for clinicians
and researchers.
PLOS (Public Library of Science)
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms (NIH)
The glossary features nearly 250 terms explained in an easy-to-understand way by leading scientists and professionals at the National Human Genome Research Institute.
The glossary features nearly 250 terms explained in an easy-to-understand way by leading scientists and professionals at the National Human Genome Research Institute.
Dr. M. Vijayakumar
University Librarian
Ananda Rangapillai Library
Pondicherry University,
Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Administrative Building,
R.V.Nagar, Kalapet,
Puducherry – 605014.
Email: librarian@pondiuni.edu.in
Phone: 0413 - 2654205
University Librarian
Ananda Rangapillai Library
Pondicherry University,
Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Administrative Building,
R.V.Nagar, Kalapet,
Puducherry – 605014.
Email: librarian@pondiuni.edu.in
Phone: 0413 - 2654205
Remote Login Access provides off campus access to all the subscribed e-resources of Ananda Rangapillai Library. This facility is being provided to faculty, research scholars and students of Pondicherry University to facilitate and promote the use of e-resources at the point of need and use.
https://elibpondiuni.remotexs.in/
https://elibpondiuni.remotexs.in/