Welcome to the Subject Guide on Coastal Disaster Management
This guide will give you an introduction to finding information on Coastal Disaster Management. You can use it to:
- locate books, eBooks and journal articles
- search relevant online databases
- connect to useful websites
- reference properly and avoid plagiarism
Audio Books
Blogs & News
Data Management & Repositories
Databases
DELNET - Developing Library Network
Electronic Books
Electronic Theses & Dissertations
National Digital Library of India (NDLI)
Blogs & News
Data Management & Repositories
Databases
DELNET - Developing Library Network
Electronic Books
Electronic Theses & Dissertations
National Digital Library of India (NDLI)
Open Courseware
Open Text Books
Organizations
Patent Databases
Preprint Servers
Research Funding Agencies
Research Support Tools
Resources Available in Library
Open Text Books
Organizations
Patent Databases
Preprint Servers
Research Funding Agencies
Research Support Tools
Resources Available in Library
Scholarships and Fellowships
Search Engines
Table of Contents Services (TOC)
Video Sources
Web Sites
Webcasts
Search Engines
Table of Contents Services (TOC)
Video Sources
Web Sites
Webcasts
Advanced Science News
Developed by Wiley, Advanced Science News is a news service covering the latest breakthroughs in science.
Developed by Wiley, Advanced Science News is a news service covering the latest breakthroughs in science.
Data Management & Repositories
Registry of Research Data Repositories - re3data.org
The Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org) is a global registry, with more than 2,400 detailed data repository records, and is widely acknowledged as a tool for the identification of suitable repositories for research data.
The Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org) is a global registry, with more than 2,400 detailed data repository records, and is widely acknowledged as a tool for the identification of suitable repositories for research data.
DELNET - Developing Library Network
DELNET - Developing Library Network
Pondicherry University Library has subscribed to the Institutional Membership of DELNET (Developing Library Network), New Delhi. DELNET is a major resource-sharing library Network in India connecting more than 7300 institutions in 33 states in India and few other countries comprising of universities, colleges, R&D organizations, specialized institutions, etc.
DELNET also provides access to more than 3.6 crore catalogue records of books journals articles, etc. with the facility to borrow books on Inter Library Loan (ILL) and get copies of journal articles. For: more details on accessing DELNET resources please logon to https://delnet.in/ and click on "New Discovery Portal".
Pondicherry University Library has subscribed to the Institutional Membership of DELNET (Developing Library Network), New Delhi. DELNET is a major resource-sharing library Network in India connecting more than 7300 institutions in 33 states in India and few other countries comprising of universities, colleges, R&D organizations, specialized institutions, etc.
DELNET also provides access to more than 3.6 crore catalogue records of books journals articles, etc. with the facility to borrow books on Inter Library Loan (ILL) and get copies of journal articles. For: more details on accessing DELNET resources please logon to https://delnet.in/ and click on "New Discovery Portal".
National Digital Library of India (NDLI)
InPASS: Indian Patent Search System
InPASS is an updated version of I-PAIRS as it allows for the full-text search of all Indian patents and Patent Applications.
InPASS is an updated version of I-PAIRS as it allows for the full-text search of all Indian patents and Patent Applications.
AusPat - search system for Australian Patents
AusPat is Australia's search database that allows inventors, industry and researchers to access patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.
AusPat is Australia's search database that allows inventors, industry and researchers to access patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.
FreePatentsOnline
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web.
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web.
Patent Abstracts of Japan Database
The Industrial Property Digital Library (IPDL) offers the public access to IP Gazettes of the JPO free of charge through the Internet.
The Industrial Property Digital Library (IPDL) offers the public access to IP Gazettes of the JPO free of charge through the Internet.
PatentScope : World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).
Patestate
Patestate is a full-text database of India and Foreign patents granted to CSIR during 1942-till date. The database summarizes the patented inventions and describes the claims made in each individual patent document. A search engine has been incorporated for finding, exploring, analyzing and tracking patents and related information.
Patestate is a full-text database of India and Foreign patents granted to CSIR during 1942-till date. The database summarizes the patented inventions and describes the claims made in each individual patent document. A search engine has been incorporated for finding, exploring, analyzing and tracking patents and related information.
The Lens
The Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. The patent searching capability allows the use of advanced Boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options.
The Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. The patent searching capability allows the use of advanced Boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options.
USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office
Patents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
Patents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.
AgriRxiv
agriRxiv (pronounced ‘agri-archive’) is a free, open access source of unpublished preprints across the agricultural sciences.
agriRxiv (pronounced ‘agri-archive’) is a free, open access source of unpublished preprints across the agricultural sciences.
arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,068,277 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 2,068,277 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv
bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") is a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences.
Department of Science & Technology
- All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE)
- Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)
- Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO)
- Department of Atomic Energy (DAE)
- Department of Ayurveda, Yoga & Naturopathy, Unani, Siddha and Homoepathy (AYUSH)
- Department of Biotechnology (DBT)
- Ministry of Coal (MOC)
- Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES)
- Department of Scientific and Industrial Research (DSIR)
- Indian Council of Medical Research (ICMR)
- India Meteorological Department (IMD)
- Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)
- Department of Electronics & Information Technology (DeitY)
- Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change
- Ministry of New and Renewable Energy
- Ministry of Power
- Ministry of Social Justice & Empowerment (MOSJE)
- Ministry of Water Resources, River Development & Ganga Rejuvenation
- Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas
- University Grants Commission (UGC)
Remote Login
Remote Login Access provides off campus access to all the subscribed e-resources of Ananda Rangapillai Library
Remote Login Access provides off campus access to all the subscribed e-resources of Ananda Rangapillai Library
Turnitin: Plagiarism Checker
Turnitin is an online software program that can detect similarities between an existing work and your submitted work. When you submit a work to Turnitin, the proprietary software compares that work to Turnitin's database.
Similarities are instances when your words match words found in other works found in the Turnitin database
Turnitin is an online software program that can detect similarities between an existing work and your submitted work. When you submit a work to Turnitin, the proprietary software compares that work to Turnitin's database.
Similarities are instances when your words match words found in other works found in the Turnitin database
Scholarships and Fellowships
Indian
Indian
-
Post Graduate Indira Gandhi Scholarship Scheme For Single Girl Child
-
Dr. D.S. Kothari Post-Doctoral Fellowships in Sciences, Medical Sciences & Engineering Sciences. (Hindi Version)
-
Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) and Research Associateship (RA) for Foreign Nationals
-
Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) in Sciences, Humanities and Social Sciences
Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive.
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive.
Table of Contents Services (TOC)
JournalToCs
This is a free Table of Contents service that provides access in one place to the most recent tables of contents for over 32,000 journals.
This is a free Table of Contents service that provides access in one place to the most recent tables of contents for over 32,000 journals.
Library of Congress Webcasts
This resource from the Library of Congress includes webcasts on a multitude of topics: history, current events, education, literature, and more. The site allows you to browse collections by subject including the National Book Festival collection, see newly added webcasts and the most popular webcasts, and download both web- and podcasts.
This resource from the Library of Congress includes webcasts on a multitude of topics: history, current events, education, literature, and more. The site allows you to browse collections by subject including the National Book Festival collection, see newly added webcasts and the most popular webcasts, and download both web- and podcasts.
Avibase - The World Bird Database
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 56 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information for 20,000 regions, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
Avibase is an extensive database information system about all birds of the world, containing over 56 million records about 10,000 species and 22,000 subspecies of birds, including distribution information for 20,000 regions, taxonomy, synonyms in several languages and more.
FishBase: A Global Information System on Fishes
FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.
FishBase is a relational database with information to cater to different professionals such as research scientists, fisheries managers, zoologists and many more.
PubMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.
SciFinderⁿ
CAS SciFindern is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface
CAS SciFindern is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder®, CAS SciFindern includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface
Web of Science
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 2002-present.
note: LibGuide
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 2002-present.
note: LibGuide
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Carnegie Mellon Online Learning Initiative
Offers 27 free and open courses from Carnegie Mellon University.
Offers 27 free and open courses from Carnegie Mellon University.
- John Hopkins University Open Courseware
- Ninety plus open courses offered from the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.
- Khan Academy
Offers access to tutorials, practice exercises, instructional videos and a personalized dashboard in many different disciplines such as math; science and engineering; computing; arts and humanities; and economics and finance. - Lumen Learning
Search by subject areas for OER course materials. - METU OpenCourseWare (Middle East Technical University)
Offers free and open educational resources for faculty, students, and self-learners throughout the world. - MIT Open Courseware
Course material for over 2000 courses is available for free in various different disciplines such as Engineering, Science, Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences, Science and more! - OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)
A search tool to search for OER content, including courseware, from 78 different sources and contains 155,375 records. - Open Course Library
"A collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts. Some of the materials (also called open educational resources, or OER) are paired with low-cost textbooks ($30 or less). The course material can be used, adapted and shared for free as well as low-cost publisher materials." This site includes courses developed specifically for community and technical colleges. - Open Education Consortium
Offers free online courses along with access to course materials and expert opinions on topical issues from members of the Open Education Consortium. - OpenLearn
Offers free online courses from the UK's Open University with free access to course materials and expert opinions. - Saylor Academy (Saylor.org)
"Free, open online courses for people everywhere." Includes topics such as General Education, Art History, Computer Science, English Literature, and more.
BC Open Campus Textbook Project
-
Free open textbooks for courses in arts, sciences, humanities and business.
-
Community College Consortium for OER (CCCOER)Search by subject areas for open and free textbooks that may be suitable for use in community college courses.
-
OASIS (Openly Available Sources Integrated Search)Open content available, including textbooks, from 52 different sources and contains 155,375 records.
-
OER CommonsSearch by subject areas for open and free textbooks that may be suitable for use in community college courses.
-
OpenStaxOffers over 20 high quality textbooks for college and AP courses; also, includes test banks, assignments, PowerPoint slides to go along with the textbooks.
-
Open SUNY TextbooksOpen textbooks from the State University of New York System.
-
Open Textbook LibraryA searchable catalog of open textbooks "licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed."
-
Saylor Academy Open Textbooks"100+ free textbooks for students, educators, and families"
Resources Available in Library
Books on Coastal Disaster Management
Anada Rangapillai Library collection is cataloged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The library has a sizable collection of books and reading material on Coastal Disaster Management subject. These books are classified under the following Class Numbers:
551.45 Coastal geomorphology
551.46 Oceanography
910.285 Geographical Information Systems
To find the books on Coastal Disaster Management, please search in Library Online Public Access Catalogue
Anada Rangapillai Library collection is cataloged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The library has a sizable collection of books and reading material on Coastal Disaster Management subject. These books are classified under the following Class Numbers:
551.45 Coastal geomorphology
551.46 Oceanography
910.285 Geographical Information Systems
To find the books on Coastal Disaster Management, please search in Library Online Public Access Catalogue
Electronic Theses & Dissertations
Academic Earth
Watch free lecture videos covering many disciplines from the world’s top universities.
Watch free lecture videos covering many disciplines from the world’s top universities.
Annenberg Learner
Teacher resources including a collection of video programs in subjects such as art, foreign language, literature/language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies/history.
Teacher resources including a collection of video programs in subjects such as art, foreign language, literature/language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies/history.
EduTube
Educational video search platform that organizes the best free online educational videos, and make them easy for you to find, watch and download. Browse by category, type, educational level, length, top 100, or most popular.
Educational video search platform that organizes the best free online educational videos, and make them easy for you to find, watch and download. Browse by category, type, educational level, length, top 100, or most popular.
Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.
TeacherTube
TeacherTube's educational technology offers a one-stop shop for user-generated educational free videos from around the world.
TeacherTube's educational technology offers a one-stop shop for user-generated educational free videos from around the world.
Biology Corner
The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers. It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics.
The Biology Corner is a resource site for biology and science teachers. It contains a variety of lessons, quizzes, labs, web quests, and information on science topics.
PLOS (Public Library of Science)
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.
Dr. M. Vijayakumar
University Librarian
Ananda Rangapillai Library
Pondicherry University,
Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Administrative Building,
R.V.Nagar, Kalapet,
Puducherry – 605014.
Email: librarian@pondiuni.edu.in
Phone: 0413 - 2654205
University Librarian
Ananda Rangapillai Library
Pondicherry University,
Bharat Ratna Dr. B.R.Ambedkar Administrative Building,
R.V.Nagar, Kalapet,
Puducherry – 605014.
Email: librarian@pondiuni.edu.in
Phone: 0413 - 2654205
Remote Login Access provides off campus access to all the subscribed e-resources of Ananda Rangapillai Library. This facility is being provided to faculty, research scholars and students of Pondicherry University to facilitate and promote the use of e-resources at the point of need and use.
https://elibpondiuni.remotexs.in/
https://elibpondiuni.remotexs.in/