Chemistry

Advanced Science News
Developed by Wiley, Advanced Science News is a news service covering the latest breakthroughs in science.

American Chemical Society(ACS)
The American Chemical Society maintains these Web sites for chemistry news

Chemical & Engineering News (News)
ACS' news magazine, Chemical & Engeering News, provides up-to-the-minute chemistry news.

Chemistry World Blog
Chemistry World Blog covers everything chemistry, including news, opinion, and discussion about the chemical sciences.

Curly Arrow
Curly Arrow is blog "devoted to the discussion of all aspects of synthetic organic chemistry and related sciences."

Research Blogging: Chemistry
Research Blogging identifies and aggregates blog posts about serious peer-reviewed research.

Bilbao Crystallographic Server
This site contains crystallographic programs and databases that use data from the International Tables for Crystallography.

CAS Common Chemistry
CAS Common Chemistry is an open community resource for accessing chemical information. Nearly 500,000 chemical substances from CAS REGISTRY^® cover areas of community interest, including common and frequently regulated chemicals, and those relevant to high school and undergraduate chemistry classes.

ChemBank
ChemBank contains data and properties of small molecules, including chemical structure, biological activity, and biological assay.

ChemExper Chemical Directory (CCD)
Search by chemical name, molecular formula, registry number, or substructure & receive synonyms, structure, properties, MSDS, IR, & links to suppliers.

ChemExper Chemical Directory (CCD)
Search by chemical name, molecular formula, registry number, or substructure & receive synonyms, structure, properties, MSDS, IR, & links to suppliers.

Chemicalize.org
chemicalize.org is a free chemical structure miner and web search engine developed and owned by ChemAxon.

ChemIDplus
Useful site for defining and identifying substances. Maintained by the US National Library of Medicine.

ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 100 million structures from hundreds of data sources.

PubChem
PubChem is searchable structure database of small molecules with information on bioassay results, biological screenings, and related literature.

Reciprocal Net
Reciprocal Net contains a database of crystallography and molecular structure. It is both searchable and browsable.

Wikipedia Chemical Structure Explorer
Wikipedia contains entries for over 15,000 substances.  The Wikipedia Chemical Structure Explorer is an interface to find information about those substances. 

AllConferences.com: Chemistry
AllConferences.Com is a directory focusing on conferences, conventions, trade shows, exhibits, workshops, events and business meetings.

Chemistry Conferences
An international listing of conferences, exhibitions and trade fairs. You can submit details of events free of charge.

Conference Alerts-Chemistry
Conference Alerts brings together two groups of people - conference organizers, and academics who need to stay informed about conferences.

Conference Service: Chemistry
Conference-Service.com offers, as part of our business activities, a directory of upcoming scientific and technical meetings.

Royal Society of Chemistry: Conferences & Events
A comprehensive listing of events around the world, including details of all RSC events.

Registry of Research Data Repositories - re3data.org
The Registry of Research Data Repositories (re3data.org) is a global registry, with more than 2,400 detailed data repository records, and is widely acknowledged as a tool for the identification of suitable repositories for research data.

AusPat - search system for Australian Patents
AusPat is Australia's search database that allows inventors, industry and researchers to access patent applications lodged and granted in Australia.

Espacenet
Espacenet: free access to over 130 million patent documents.

FreePatentsOnline
The FreePatentsOnline search engine is one of the most powerful, fastest and easiest patent search engines on the web.

Google Patents Search
Advanced patent search

Patent Abstracts of Japan Database
The Industrial Property Digital Library (IPDL) offers the public access to IP Gazettes of the JPO free of charge through the Internet.

PatentScope : World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
Using PATENTSCOPE you can search 59 million patent documents including 3.1 million published international patent applications (PCT).

Patestate
Patestate is a full-text database of India and Foreign patents granted to CSIR during 1942-till date. The database summarizes the patented inventions and describes the claims made in each individual patent document. A search engine has been incorporated for finding, exploring, analyzing and tracking patents and related information.

The Lens
The Lens hosts more than 100 million patent records from over 95 different jurisdictions. The patent searching capability allows the use of advanced Boolean functions, structured search, biological search, and classification search options.

USPTO - United States Patent and Trademark Office
Patents may be searched in the USPTO Patent Full-Text and Image Database (PatFT). The USPTO houses full text for patents issued from 1976 to the present and TIFF images for all patents from 1790 to the present.

www.pat2pdf.org
A free patent searching tool. Retrieves pdf copies of US patents.

ChemRxiv
ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas.

EngrXIV: Open Archive of Engineering
A great source for open papers and preprints in the fields of engineering.
 

Name Reactions
From Organic-Chemistry.org, this site contains information on the most important name reactions in organic synthesis. Each entry includes the reaction, a description, the mechanism, and literature citations.

Organic Syntheses
This site contains the complete contents of the volumes of Organic Syntheses from John Wiley & Sons, Inc. It is searchable by text or by structure and browsable by reaction type.

Reaction Index
Name reactions in organic chemistry are listed and described on this Web site.

Remote Login
Remote Login Access provides off campus access to all the subscribed e-resources of Ananda Rangapillai Library

Turnitin: Plagiarism Checker
Turnitin is an online software program that can detect similarities between an existing work and your submitted work.  When you submit a work to Turnitin, the proprietary software compares that work to Turnitin's database.
Similarities are instances when your words match words found in other works found in the Turnitin database

eMolecules
Formerly Chmoogle, eMolecules is a chemistry search engine. Draw and enter a structure or substructure; or enter a systematic, standard, common, brand, or chemical name, and eMolecules quickly searches over 6,000,000 substance records

Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature.

Internet Archive Scholar
This fulltext search index includes over 25 million research articles and other scholarly documents preserved in the Internet Archive.

Linux4Chemistry

The OpenScience Project: Chemistry
The OpenScience Project contains a directory of open-source scientific software. The chemistry section lists resources under several categories including: biochemistry, biophysical, chemical information, crystallography, molecular viewers and editors, organic, periodic tables, physical, spectroscopy, surfaces, and theoretical and computational. A search engine is also included.

Webcasts of Chemistry

ACS Webinars

Developed by the American Chemical Society, ACS Webinars contain archived video presentations by subject matter experts.  There are 4 channels:  career, professional growth, business & innovation, and joy of science.  By joining an email list, you will be notified of and can attend new live webinars.

American Chemical Society Meeting Presentations

Synced audio and slides from selected ACS meeting presentations are freely available.  The presentations can be browsed by ACS division, speaker, or date; or searched by keywords, speaker, or chairperson.

Beautiful Chemical Reactions

Created at the University of Science & Technology of China, Beautiful Chemical Reactions is a video that displays the beauty of chemistry in these categories:  metal displacement, precipitation, chemical garden, crystallization, color change, bubbling reactions, dancing fluorescent droplets, and smoke.

Chemistry World Podcasts

Based on the Royal Society of Chemistry's Chemistry World magazine, these podcasts, which run 30 to 40 minutes long, summarize important information from the magazine. The podcasts are in MP3 format and there is an archives back to 2006.  There are 2 other podcast series Chemistry in Its Element:  Compounds and Chemistry in Its Element:  Interactive Periodic Table, which provide information about specific compounds and elements.

Distillations

From the Chemical Heritage Foundation, Distillations is a weekly podcast on the past, present, and future of chemistry. Its purpose is to help gain an historical perspective on current scientific issues through podcast interviews, features, commentaries, and reviews.

DnaTube

DnaTube is similar to YouTube, but covers scientific research, lectures, and seminars in video format. Their goal is "to contribute science by generating a self-growing community who shares their scientific experiences."

 

InChI Videos

Developed by the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry (IUPAC), InChI is an abbreviation for International Chemical Identifier.  It is a textural identifier for chemical substances, machine and human readable, and provides a means to search for chemical subtances on the Web and  in databases.  These YouTube videos on the InChI Trust Channel describe InChI and its uses.

Learning Chemistry:  Enhancing Learning and Teaching

From the Royal Society of Chemistry, this website contains videos on chemistry lab methods.

The Periodic Table of Videos

From the University of Nottingham, The Periodic Table of Videos is a collection of short, informative videos about each of the elements in the Periodic Table of the Elements.

Science Elements

From the American Chemical Society (ACS), Science Elements offers brief webcasts on cutting-edge discoveries described in ACS journals. In addition to chemistry, ACS journals cover topics in fields like medicine, health, nutrition, energy, and the environment.

ScienceCinema

ScienceCinema uses innovative audio indexing and speech recognition technology to help locate videos produced by the U.S. Department of Energy national laboratories and research facilities, and the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN). Users can search for specific words and phrases, and precise video segments where the search term was spoken will appear along with a timeline. Users can select and play the video segments. Currently, there are current over 3,000 speech-indexed videos in the collection.

 

SciVee

The goal of SciVee is to advance the dissemination of scientific and technical knowledge by making research more visible.  Researchers can promote their work by uploading video presentations that serve as more approachable guides to their research.  SciVee offers the capability to synchronize video with text-based documents.  This capability can be used to create PubCasts, PosterCasts, PaperCasts, and SlideCasts.  SciVee is searchable and can be browsed by broad subject.

 

Voices of Inorganic Chemistry

As part of the 50th anniversary celebration of the ACS journal Inorganic Chemistry, this site contains video presentations of chemists who have helped to shape the field of inorganic chemistry.

EBSCO Academic Search Complete

EBSCO Academic Search Complete Is designed specifically for academic institutions, is the largest scholarly,  multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Grammarly Premium
Grammarly is an automated online writing support tool that does far more than just highlight grammar and spelling errors. The program offers contextual advice and suggestions for improving sentence structure, word choice, and style for all kinds of documents. It can even help prevent plagiarism by checking for unoriginal text against a database of over 8 billion web pages. The Ananda Rangapillai Library is pleased to offer Pondicherry University students, research scholars, faculty, and staff free access to the premium academic version of Grammarly, known as Grammarly@EDU.
For login assistance, contact: vijay.lib@pondiuni.edu.in

Indiastat
Comprehensive portal to economic, social, political, and related statistics about India. Over half-a-million pages of statistical data are presented in a user-friendly Web format.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is a wealth of unique global scholarship, which is a credible and quality source to Uncover the Undiscovered research insights and intelligence in the easiest and most effective ways. The equitable discoverability of more than 5 million dissertations and theses with coverage from the year 1637, allows researchers to amplify diverse voices and place their research in a global context. The database offers nearly 3 million full texts for most of the dissertations added since 1997
note: https://proquest.libguides.com/PQDT

PubMed
National Library of Medicine's comprehensive database of citations to medical journal articles, with links to UMass-subscribed full text, 1946-present. PubMed includes all MEDLINE content, plus content from additional journals and books in the life sciences.

SciFinderⁿ
CAS SciFinderⁿ is the latest scientific information solution from CAS, a division of the American Chemical Society. In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in CAS SciFinder^®, CAS SciFinderⁿ includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, touch-screen enabled structure drawing and much more—all accessible in a simple, easy-to-use interface

Scopus
Scopus uniquely combines a comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database with enriched data and linked scholarly content.

Quickly find relevant and trusted research, identify experts and access reliable data, metrics and analytical tools for confident research strategy decisions — all from one database and one subscription.

Scopus is a comprehensive, source-neutral abstract and citation database curated by independent subject matter experts. It places powerful discovery and analytics tools in the hands of researchers, librarians, institutional research managers and funders. Scopus powers better decision-making with curated, complete and connected data.

note: https://elsevier.libguides.com/Scopus

The Chemical Thesaurus reaction chemistry database
Information about chemical entities and chemical reactions, interactions and processes. Allows you to jump from chemical to chemical via the associated interactions, reactions and processes

Web of Science
Indexes the world's leading peer reviewed journal literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities and provides searching of cited references, from 2002-present.
note: LibGuide

Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.

ScienceDirect - eBook Collections
The collection on Elsevier eBooks Collections includes 509 titles in the following subjects: Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Chemistry, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Engineering, Environmental Science, Immunology and Microbiology, Mathematics and Computing, Social Sciences, Environmental Science, Forensics.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/ebooks.php

American Institute of Physics
AIP Publishing is a wholly owned not-for-profit subsidiary of the American Institute of Physics (AIP).
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27American%20Institute%20of%20Physics%27

American Physical Society

Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews provides researchers, professors, and scientific professionals with a definitive academic resource in 33scientific disciplines. Annual Reviews save time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions.
note: Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Annual%20Reviews%27

Institute of Physics
The Institute of Physics is a leading international professional body and learned society, established to promote the advancement and dissemination of physics. It provides access to 71full text journals in the area of physics.

Oxford University Press
Oxford University Press (OUP) provides full-text access to more than 262 electronic journals in the field of life sciences, mathematics, physical sciences, medicine, social sciences, humanities and law with back files from 1996 onwards.
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Oxford%20University%20Press%27

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC)
The Royal Society of Chemistry publishes 48 peer-reviewed journals that cover the core chemical sciences including related fields such as biology, biophysics, energy and environment, engineering, materials, medicine and physics.

ScienceDirect (10 Subject Collections)
Access to Science Direct 10 subjects (1. Biochemistry, Genetics & Mol. Biology,2. Agriculture & Biological Science,3. Chemistry4. Computer Science,5. Economics,6. Immunology & Microbiology,7. Mathematics,8. Physics & Astronomy,9. Social Sciences,10. Psychology) collection (1000+journals titles ) with back-files since 1995.
note: https://elsevier.libguides.com/sciencedirect
Journal List: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27PU%27%20&%20cc=%27Elsevier%27

Springer Link
Springer is the leading global scientific publisher, delivering quality content through innovative information products and services, as well as a trusted provider of local-language professional publications in Europe, especially in Germany and the Netherlands. It publishers high quality content in various formats like books, journals, newsletters, CD-ROMs, online platforms, protocols, databases and conferences.
Overall journals can be accessed through SpringerLink are around 1700+ journals. The backfiles / backdata is available since 1997 for Springer titles and 2007 onwards for Nature main title.
 
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?%20ss=%27UGC%27%20&%20cc=%27Springer%20Link%27

Taylor and Francis Journals
Taylor and Francis, founded in 1798, is the oldest commercial journals publisher in the world, and one of the leading global academic publishers. Informa interface is a new and expanding platform, initially hosting the academic and scientific publications. Taylor & Francis Group publishes more than 1600 journals and around 1,800 new books each year Taylor and Francis provides quality information and knowledge that enable the customers and end-users to perform their jobs efficiently, continue their education, and help contribute to the advancement of their chosen profession. It is a widely known publisher among researchers, students, academics and increasingly professionals.
The Consortium can access more than 1000 journals with archival access to 1998 onwards issues. More details are available at https://think.taylorandfrancis.com/journals-access-under-eshodhsindhu-consortium/.

Wiley 908 Titles Collection
Wiley is one of the world's foremost academic and professional publishers and the largest society publisher. With a combined list of more than 1,400 scholarly peer-reviewed journals and an extensive collection of books with global appeal, this new business sets the standard for publishing in the life and physical sciences, medicine and allied health, engineering, humanities and social sciences.
Perpetual access: For Subscribed content
Backfile access: Complimentary, back to the Year 1997
note: http://lib.pondiuni.edu.in/journals.php?ss=%27pu%27%20&%20cc=%27Wiley%20Blackwell%27

DART Europe E-theses Portal

EBSCO Open Dissertations

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

PQDT OPEN: ProQuest Digital Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Shodhganga -ETD Repository of Indian Universities

Top 100 Dissertation and theses references on the web

Annenberg Learner
Teacher resources including a collection of video programs in subjects such as art, foreign language, literature/language arts, mathematics, science, and social studies/history.

EduTube
Educational video search platform that organizes the best free online educational videos, and make them easy for you to find, watch and download. Browse by category, type, educational level, length, top 100, or most popular.

Free Video Lecture: Chemistry

National Programme on Technology Enhanced Learning (NPTEL)

Open Video Project
The purpose of the Open Video Project is to collect and make available a repository of digitized video content for the digital video, multimedia retrieval, digital library, and other research communities.

Periodic Table of Videos

TeacherTube
TeacherTube's educational technology offers a one-stop shop for user-generated educational free videos from around the world.

Organic Chemistry Portal
Provides an overview of recent topics, reactions, and information on chemicals for organic chemists.

PLOS (Public Library of Science)
PLOS is a nonprofit, Open Access publisher empowering researchers to accelerate progress in science and medicine by leading a transformation in research communication.

Wolfram|Alpha
Wolfram|Alpha is an excellent resource for finding chemical information such as unit conversions, flashpoints, thermodynamic properties, reactivity, and boiling points. It also provides rapid and accurate computations.